Sir Charles ponders the consequence of disobeying a road sign

Sir Charles ponders the consequence of disobeying a road sign

My son’s horseless carriage was available for a few days so I suggested to Sir Charles Westgarth that he might like to join Mrs Semper and myself in taking the air of Kent and Sussex.

Sir Charles’ 97th birthday approaches – the exact date being a matter of National Security – but he was still sprightly enough to wander around Maidstone and Rye and serve as arbitrator in the navigational disagreements among Mr and Mrs Semper.

He also had no problem demolishing a plate of Fish and Chips near Rye Harbour.

The sun was nearly seen on two occasions and we only had one light shower.  I think my letter of complaint to the Meteorological Office might be bearing fruit.  I hope my valet has pressed some T-shirts.

